Results!

Here they are! The cast products.

Firstly I am a little disappointed that I have not yet been able to buff the initial test cast to a clear glass like finish. It just won’t buff up even though it is so smooth now and I have tried various polishing compounds including a brasso equivalent (or maybe not) and a metal polish for chrome.

Image

Orange tinge is due to the cardboard box leaking some colour

I sanded the piece with 600, 800 then 1200 water paper and subsequently started to polish it, unfortunately it is not reacting the way I had hoped. I even attached a polishing wheel to my drill press but even that only left the resin dull. I know it is crystal clear as before I sanded the top it was like water.

Image

Another View

Here the trigger before sanding the cardboard mold away.

Image

In it’s little conffin.

Image

Coffin Removed!

Image

With backlight, my work needs a little work 🙂

Image

Bottom

And here some other projects I have on the go, please welcome the Nilsen Slider – Control box.

Image

Controller being assembled.

More to come in a separate post.

One Response to “Results!”

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here different wweb page and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so i aam just following you.
    Look forward to finding oout about your web page yet again.

Leave a Reply

